JET Application, the Wait!! (Part 3)


JET meme

There are two main times where you`re between steps and have nothing more to do until you hear back, I like to call this the “Dreadful Wait” stage.  This is the first and potentially hardest.

By now everyone should have submitted their official online application.  You probably went a bit crazy while double, triple, quadruple checking your application (especially the written section!!!), potentially hounding your references to meet the deadline, and trying to fit adequate descriptions into those way-to-limited-in-space  answer boxes,  right? Either that or you`re a steel wall and you didn`t even bat an eye…

Either way, there isn`t anything for you to do until you hear back, and that can be unnerving. Just breathe.

Try to stay relaxed and just continue on with whatever you are doing normally in your life for now. A positive and beneficial pastime could be to review or continue to study Japanese.  I imagine that everyone should hear back shortly as to who made it past the first stage via mass personal # upload on the JET Program site.

Once these decisions are posted, there will be a some that don`t make it this try, but I strongly encourage trying again for next year!  For those of you that make it to the next stage, good job, but you`re not quite done yet. There is usually another set of paperwork that you need to fill out, and then of course there is the interview.

I`ll be sure to do an overview of what the interview stage is like shortly, but if you have any specific questions, post them, and I will either respond, include the response in my post, or both!

 

About mindofryan

spontaneity - check open minded- check optimistic- check 一期一会 - check I am a College grad, managing the daily work load, a social life, and personal hobbies. I love martial arts and am interested in seeing the world and it's cultures.

Posted on January 11, 2016, in JET Program(me), Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey man, feel free to send me some questions on Facebook about the differences between the ALT vs. CIR interviews for your next blog post. Obviously I can’t get too specific (e.g. I won’t be able to answer questions like, “What questions did they ask you?”) but I can give advice as to what would be a helpful way to prepare and what I personally thought went well in my own interview- keeping in mind of course that they change the material each year, and what I experienced in my New York interview will be completely different from how Melbourne or Miami or anywhere else in the world will conduct their interviews.

    Good stuff my dude, keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

