10 Seconds of Courage; Perspective


Walking down the street I happened to look to the right, seeing a girl walking in a stylish black and green twirl of a scarf.  Her hair is wind-brushed back, out of her eyes, yet still squinting due to that same crisp, chilly wind.  My heart skips a beat and then moves in double time to make up for itself.  My mind pulls at the idea of approaching her, introducing myself, and inviting her somewhere for a romantic and fun night out.  In my mind it all works; she smiles while say “yeah, sure thing.” to my invitation.  Without delay, as that thought ends, a bombarding onslaught of horrid rejections flood my mind, one after the other, holding nothing back.  Grasped by the vice of fear I look back and forth between her and the original path I was taking.  An eternity passes as two seconds tick by.  Finally I build up my courage for a ten second burst, as that’s all it takes.  She starts to turn a corner a and I took the chance to jog over to catch up.

Security Camera View

Late at night, approximately 9:00pm. A woman walks onto the screen.  Shortly after a man in a black coat, hat and gloves comes into view on her left.  She is walking slowly leaning forward slightly into the wind.  The man starts to stare in her direction, putting his hands in his pockets, taking them out, and putting them in once more, all the while looking her way.  He looks around and jogs after her as she rounds the corner of a building, going out of view.

About mindofryan

spontaneity - check open minded- check optimistic- check 一期一会 - check I am a College grad, managing the daily work load, a social life, and personal hobbies. I love martial arts and am interested in seeing the world and it's cultures.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in College, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

