Monster Marketing project; best thing ever


When I first heard that I would be randomly paired with 4 other random people to form a marketing team to increase market share for an undisclosed brand, I was not very happy to say the least.  I was expecting to team up with 4 others that I signed up for the class with to create a powerhouse of skills.  Things never turn out how you expect them to I guess.  I was at least hoping to get a mixed group of men and women to have a wide range of opinions, backgrounds, and so on to give our project the best angles possible.

Again I was thrown for a loop getting 4 other guys; I was stating to see a pattern here…

Either way that was how it would be and we set to work and before we knew it, we had all become friends, and jad developed a solid marketing plan.
Along with the planning of our marketing plan, I was to do a portion of the background research ( easy enough) and then make a professional level poster (uhhh) , then film (oh boy) and edit (even worse) 2 videos, one a viral vid and another a commercial styled.  Both to be put on Youtube and other media/ social media sources. . .

I had no experience or knowledge of how to do any of that, but I had the HD camera, and the never before used Adobe Photoshop CS5 Extended on my PC laptop.  I then put in about 20 to 40  hours over the course of 3 days teaching myself how to use all the programs necessary to do the basics, and then going through trial and error for everything else.

I was amazed to have found something that even stumped google and youtube.  Adobe Photoshop CS5 Extended has a lesser known secret, it can edit video.  As such I searched and searched and could find no answers to my editing dilemmas dealing with all sorts of problems, yet eventually figured it out.

With the combined efforts my group put together a killer presentation and came out with one of  the best grade in the class at 101% when the average grade was 80%-85%.

This experience really showed me how much doing something I enjoyed changed how I work, not to mention that with a positive attitude things that don’t go how you expected them too can work in your favor.  I am also pretty skilled at Adobe Photoshop and the poster above is an example of what I have created.

Any thoughts?

 

About mindofryan

spontaneity - check open minded- check optimistic- check 一期一会 - check I am a College grad, managing the daily work load, a social life, and personal hobbies. I love martial arts and am interested in seeing the world and it's cultures.

Posted on May 3, 2012, in challenges, College, Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

