The Hunger Games…now i want to learn to hunt (movie/book comments)


I don’t know about you but after reading The Hunger Games and watching it as well I am being hit by wave after wave of a need to learn to hunt!  I have an urgent lust for skills such as hunting, trapping,  edible plants, bow and arrow use, knife throwing, water purification, increased weapon knowledge, rope tying, and sooooooo much more!  Gyms should definitely make all of these available!

(SPOILER ALERT)Moving on a bit I thought the book was amazing and the film was pretty darn well made.  Although there are things that I have to say threw me off a bit:

    • cut out madge
    • hardly any of the fights were shown in-depth
    • the sleeping medicine was cut
    • the wounds on the characters were not emphasized a ton
    • Werewolf like creations from the dead contestants were made into dog things…
  • what about peeta loosing his leg?
  • Why did the guy from District 11 get killed by dogs?
  • body armor anyone?

Those were the main things that I could remember several hours after seeing the film, but I still have to say that it w
as very well done.  Maybe the directors cut will have more in-depth scenes and  will have different parts that were cut for time.

I have to say I was getting emotional from the start  when Katniss sings to her sister as a foreshadow of Rue.  t
here was an interesting scene added to represent District 11’s respectful sign that was really well made and so on.

what did you think?

About mindofryan

spontaneity - check open minded- check optimistic- check 一期一会 - check I am a College grad, managing the daily work load, a social life, and personal hobbies. I love martial arts and am interested in seeing the world and it's cultures.

Posted on March 24, 2012, in Books, Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

