(New Idea) Japanese TV Dramas(not soap operas!!!)


In case I haven’t mentioned it before I am studying Japanese in College as one of my Majors and I have decided that I am going to watch some Japanese TV Dramas to improve my listening skills (at least) for Japanese.  I’m not sure what I’m going to write here yet, but I think i might post things that i find interesting about each episode, or series, that others might find useful, agree with, or not care about.  whatever happens I think that, at the very least, some English speakers interested in learning different methods to study or enjoy the Japanese language will get some new ideas for things to watch that are not faaaaaar too difficult for beginners to intermediate level learners to understand.

I recommend watching the shows in Japanese every time with English Subtitles.  Then once you finish an episode, re-watch it without the subtitles, or watch it again with them, but try hard not to look!!! 😉  I know it is hard but I have found that it really does help.  I have found a good 30 plus series that caught my eye.

There is no way I  will watch all of them, so I have decided to at least watch the first episode and post an opinion on them, as well as why I think what I do.  That way you don’t have to waste your time if you were thinking about checking it out.  For the ones that I like I will continue to watch them and post some random stuff on them.

The first one I have started watching that I like is called “The Japanese That Japanese People Don’t Know” also know as 「日本人の知らないの日本語」(nihonjin no shiranai no nihongo).  I think I will have my first posts up about it tomorrow if I have time.

じゃあ、まったね。

About mindofryan

spontaneity - check open minded- check optimistic- check 一期一会 - check I am a College grad, managing the daily work load, a social life, and personal hobbies. I love martial arts and am interested in seeing the world and it's cultures.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Japanese, Japanese Dramas, Languages and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

